Ubuntu on VirtualBox? Pain in the arse

I had Ubuntu on VirtualBox already on my Windows 7, but somehow, never really contemplated using it for any serious work. This was mainly because my perception of Virtual machines went like:

Turns out I was wrong on counts 2 and 3, but they are a bit slow, for sure. I also faced some issues with flickering icons etc, probably due to low RAM etc.

So today I spent my day upgrading the 10.04 on my VM to 12.04 and expanding the RAM and disc space in hope that it will improve the speed.
Phew.

Tasks for tomorrow:

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

8 June ‘14

I implemented location detection in my app today using pygeoip. I detected user network bandwidth by downloading an image at a URL using JS and timing it. This method gives network speed fairly close to as measured by other online... Continue →